

Incoming President's Message



Dear Port Manatee Propeller Club Members,

Many of you already know me but I would like to formally introduce myself to those who don't. My name is Matty Appice, and I am the new Port Manatee Propeller Club President. I have been working in the maritime industry since 1977, and I am truly honored to lead the Port Manatee Propeller Club for the next two years.

We are all living in unprecedented and difficult times and we will have to find new ways to conduct our business. As a club, we need to work as one to continue to meet our main goal of promoting the maritime industry, fostering maritime education, and

communicating the importance and necessity of all waterborne commerce.

I have some big shoes to fill. Our past president Billy Roy led the club through an explosive period of growth during which the club gave a record amount of scholarships to deserving high school students. Under Billy Roy's leadership, our club was named Southeast Propeller Club of the year and one of our members earned the Southeast and International member of the year award. Even though the club had to cancel many of its fundraising events once the pandemic hit, we were still able to support local charities.

We will continue to look for ways to meet safely and support the many causes we have been involved in. The club is committed to support local children in need, as well as introduce the maritime industry to the next generation.

The club has a very strong and active board that will meet in July for a planning session. We will announce our committees which I hope you will be willing to join.

Meanwhile, you can help the club remain a strong organization by assisting us in recruiting more members. I will always be open to any feedback or comments so please feel free to send me an e-mail at any time.

I look forward to serving all of you, and again, thanks for allowing me to be your Port Manatee Propeller Club president.

With sincerest thanks.

Matty

2020/2021 Board

Port Manatee Propeller Club 2020-2021 Board Members

Matty Appice - President

Virginia Zimmermann - 1st Vice President

Jeffrey Downing - 2nd Vice President

Abby Lindecamp - Treasurer

Teresa Daugherty - Secretary

Billy Roy - Outgoing Past President

Members:

David St. Pierre Moe Moravchik Carl Blodgett Allen Langford Cheryl McCloud Ryan O'Neill Anthony Bates Laura Gaythwaite Cole Patterson





